top of page

Networking Like A Pro

We all know networking as a model can be tricky. It's hard to build a portfolio and reputation with little to no experience. Here are three ways to get yourself on the RIGHT track in this business.

Before we get started I should mention that in no way am I saying that the way I network is the only way you can use social media, as a model. I once was directed down the wrong hole for social media. As I climbed out I gained some decent feed back on keeping my platforms professional. I also have discussed with photographers on what they look for in models via social media. Such as Instagram or Facebook. Typically I get asked questions or advice on how I maintain a social status in the industry. “How do you get so many followers?”, “You’re portfolio is so cool, how do you have time to do it?”, or “How do you know what you are going to post next?”. I promise it’s simple. I do what I feel is appropriate for my image. Social media changes so frequently that I decided to stop keeping up with the latest way to ‘post’ and focused on being a professional. Regardless, it seems to get a lot of peoples attention. My techniques have been proven over and over so I figured I share.

TICK TOCK:

Lets face it. You aren't a Kardashian. You weren’t born into this industry already famous for your last name. And the ratio becoming a super star overnight is slim to a miracle. The first thing you need to remember networking as a model is: TIME. Gaining attention to your portfolio the right way, is something you must be patient with and constantly work on. I say the RIGHT way because a lot of models seem to think the only way to build a reputation is being degrading and inappropriate. Sure “takeovers” on Snap Chat or tagging your dog face selfies on Instagram to pages like “Sexy IG Models” might get you quick followers. However, from my experience (and lack of understanding consequences of social media attention) you won’t gain the right followers or feed back by doing that.

My social media pages are portfolios to gain attention from photographers or models in need of inspiration/knowledge in the business. Not creepy dudes who… just want to touch my butt. It took me a while to lose or block the negative attention received on my platforms. It took even longer to build the esthetic and professionalism. If you are serious about this business, you must understand the time consuming effort it takes in maintaining a professional esthetic. However, once you have a rhythm on your platforms the question of what to post next becomes easy. In the long run, for me, it’s not about followers. It’s about looking professional and gaining attention from potential photographers and coaching clients.

TYPES OF BUILDING:

My portfolio(s) look the way they do because I remembered a little phrase from when I marched drum corps. “ALWAYS LOOK GOOD”. I chose an approach to make everything flow on my feeds. From colors to themes or even seasonal bookings the main look of my pages look fluid. Options that I changed started with my comments or status on pictures. They are no longer passive aggressive quotes or lyrics. Now my comments are advertisement to show photographers I’m a professional looking for serious inquiries. I also opted out on personal selfies and insight to my personal life. Because in the long run… no photographer cares about your food, OOTD, or if you’re “feeling yourself” because you managed to get out of bed and brush your hair. Photographers do read the passive aggressive comments and they do judge you on your immaturity. Just like they do judge your dirty room behind your OOTD selfie in the mirror or the fact that you ditched an early morning shoot because you were hung over from the night before drinking with friends. If you sincerely want to gain gigs through social media, I highly suggest double checking posts before you share.

Building your portfolio is a two lane street. Stop thinking you are entitled and photographers should only contact you. Reaching out to photographers is a whole other beast, but it shows you care about this industry. Photographers can sense when models are only out to help themselves. Networking when you have no ulterior motive, you can begin to build relationships and a reputation for being generous rather than self-serving. Offer photographers your skills in modeling to help build both party's portfolios. From personal experience I have gained many photography gigs with this method. Having a professional esthetic to my platforms has also helped keep the attention of photographers I reached out to. They are not always paying gigs at first. Most of the time photographers get back to me and are willing to work together for a small shoot. In time we gain a relationship. Not only do they see my professionalism, but my skills as a model and we work together multiple times. Often being compensated the next shoot date. They also share my information with other potential photographers who are also impressed by my portfolios and/or social media pages.

A TRUE PRO:

This seriously can’t get any more obvious! Brush off those high school english skills and techniques. In addition to networking with photographers. When reaching out remember: keep it professional. Using emojis and slang words often put up a red flag to professional photographers. Be cautious about what you say to photographers in messages or comments. Remember you aren’t the only person who can screen shot a message and send to others. You also don’t want to gain attention from “photographers” looking for more than a photoshoot. Prowlers often look for immature writing on picture comments or messages. They are smart enough to realize if a pretty girl posts ignorant comments, she mostly likely isn’t intelligent enough to notice she is being tricked. Tricked into a creepers trap. Read up on my latest blog on how to avoid said creepers.

I have repeatedly stress about esthetic in this blog. Basically i’m talking about the consistency of your feed/portfolio. I have done some research and learned that statistically profiles with repeated themes (such as filters or style pictures) gain more feed back. Whether thats comments, followers, or likes. Unfortunately, as a model, you can’t really control what the photographer sends you for your portfolio. Not every photographer has the same style or technique. Although, you can control the color flow of your feed or seasonal shoots. Try grouping similar posts/pictures and photographers styles together to make a transitional feed.

My last thing to discuss about keeping it professional is a little lie most of us have been told about social media sharing. Have you ever heard “It’s unprofessional to post more than one picture a day or you won’t get any likes of follows or… shoots.” yeah me too. It’s crap! As a model you shouldn’t be ashamed of sharing your work more than once a day. Your ‘followers’ or photographers, you know the people that actually matter, should also understand that you are building a portfolio. You want them to see your growing work as well as your talent in various styles of shooting. Likes and follows are great, but in the long run your professionalism is what gets you anywhere in this business. Let alone life.

I hope the small insight of how I work with my social media platforms not only answers consistent questions asked of me. But helps you understand the importance of keeping a professional platform and how to network professionally. In this day and age people judge everyone by the cover of their book. Why not make yours look like its a exceptional read?

If you would like more information or would like to schedule a shoot/coaching or assisting session please feel free to reach me at my email (BJamruss@gmail.com).

Checkout my active portfolio on my Facebook fan page. www.facebook.com/BexRussModel Cheers!


bottom of page